Tomboy: A Graphic Memoir, Liz Prince

This graphic novel just redefines what it means to be a girl, and gender norms.  It is, as the title indicates, a memoir of Prince’s childhood and adolescence.  I think a lot of us, girls especially, can relate to her [Liz’s] story.  Or at least I can.  While I wasn’t, and still am not, a tomboy to the extent of Liz, I as a child felt kind of in the middle.  Of course, when I was a child, gender didn’t really matter, as long as someone wanted to play with you.  Nowadays, though, things are different, and I think that sucks, that people can’t just roll with it.  But hey, as I have said before, and will continue to say, I can’t change your mind, only your opinion.

“I didn’t want to be the rescued.  I wanted to be the HERO.” (32)

Song: The Kids Aren’t Alright, Fall Out Boy

Leave a Reply

